Pending RAC “Rent Control” Complaints re 1522 Hi Point Street 90035

January 30, 2018

What’s wrong at Los Angeles rent control department?

Hear the call to rent control Maria Wood

LOS ANGELES – The rent control department has received numerous complaints since December 2017 against 1522 Hi Point St Apts 90035. One complaint was case number CE229942. After numerous calls, voicemails, and faxes, and emails, there has been no response to a request for status. The department phone numbers are 213-252-1425, 866-557-7368 and 213-275-3493. The department has for years taken the position that all Blacks are not entitled to “full and equal housing services and privileges” as required under law. Here is a link to an audio voicemail left for that city department today:

Call to RSD Maria Wood


Updated Jan 1, 2018

[Redacted from a December 19-28 2017 Rent Stabilization Department Complaint, Los Angeles, California]

Hi Point Apts Named in Complaint for Illegal Rent and Reduction of Services

[Los Angeles- Hi Point Apts LLC, Williams Real Estate Advisors, Inc. [“WREA”] and manager Cynthia Ogan are named in a wide reaching complaint filed with the city rent control department. Cynthia Ogan is also the owner of the Doggone Cindy’s Dog Walking Service.

[The over 133 page complaint alleges that apt 9 tenants have suffered an illegal rent increase and reduction in housing services. The complaint asks for damages and double damages. The rent control department is a law enforcement agency. Scores of tenants and city rent control and code enforcement employees are named in the administrative complaint. The complaint requests a public hearing. Some of the city inspectors named are alleged to be paid over $100,000 per year to deny “full and equal” housing services to Black tenants.]

Subject: Documentation for your case number CE229942 and CE229943 and CE229944 for investigator Maria Wood

From: [Tenant name and email redacted]


Date:  Thursday, December 28, 2017 9:59 PM     

Dear LA Housing and Community Investment Department – Investigation and Enforcement

I am responding to your letter of December 20, 2017 which confirms Complaint filed and Request for Documentation, your case number CE229942 and CE229943 CE229944. The Housing Investigator is Maria Wood.

This response is by email with attachments. Attached is a 13 page list of the documents attached. Documents attached otherwise total 133 pages. COMMENTARY

1. This documentation is meant to be illustrative but not all inclusive.

“…The city employees named herein have made a lot of excuses…”

2. The city employees named herein have made a lot of excuses as to why tenants unit 9 have not been provided with a  working intercom [maintenance reduced] and a tandem parking stall. None of those government reasons occur in the rental  agreement, see agreement at Exhibit page 118.

3. PARKING ISSUES: The city government approved the CFO for the building in 1973, see Exhibit page 111. The striping  clearly marks the parking stalls. Pictures at pages 11-18 clearly show that the owner altered stall #13 from the CFO to make the stall a tandem stall, a privilege that was not offered to tenants unit 9. Exhibits photographs 11-18 clearly show that tenants unit 9 were assigned to park in stall #14, a two car stall. In April 2014 the owner reduced the parking from stall #14 to stall #8, which in the photos show that stall #8 is a single car stall, thus unit 9’s parking was reduced entitling unit 9 tenants to a rent reduction. The rental agreement clearly shows that the owner/manager marked “parking space #2”  which translates to parking for two vehicles. Photographic evidence previously provided to the city shows another vehicle was assigned and parking in stall #8. The city is requested to gather the parking assignments/rent agreements to see what tenants were assigned to stall #8 in the year 2013. Currently there are 18 units and 20 parking stalls, so that is two extra unassigned stalls, of which tenant unit 9 has been denied the privilege of parking in an extra stall. Alternatively, even if the city RSD feels erroneously that tenants unit 9 were never “assigned” to stall 14 and never received the privilege of parking in stall #14, I feel the owner has reduced the housing privilege of being assigned to a tandem stall, as such stalls have become available over the past six months, the owner has denied such privilege to tenants unit 9. The CFO and pictures show that “tandem stalls” have always been available [present] prior to tenant 9’s occupancy.

“…Currently there are 18 units and 20 parking stalls, so that is two extra unassigned stalls…”

4. INTERCOM ISSUES: (1) The intercom and maintenance is protected under federal law 42 USC section 1981 as “benefits, privileges, terms, and conditions of the contractual relationship”. The rent agreement is a contractual agreement. The intercom falls under the “including, but not limited to” section of the rental agreement; the term “maintenance” is clearly used in the rental agreement. If as some landlords do, a monetary fund of say $500 is set aside for minor repairs for each apartment with the provision that maintenance can perform any repairs under the $500 without owner approval, then unit 9’s benefit service privilege has been reduced since unit 9 has not received the intercom maintenance [state law Unruh requires “full and equal” housing services and privileges]; the estimated $500 set aside for repairs has been reduced because unit 9 has been denied the maintenance that would be provided in the $500, which undoubtedly is $500 coming from the rent monies paid. “Los Angeles municipal code section 151.02 defines Housing Services as services connected with the use or occupancy of a rental unit including, but not limited to, utilities (including light heat water and telephone) , ordinary repairs or replacement, and maintenance, including painting. This term shall also include the probation of elevator service ,laundry facilities and privileges, common recreational facilities, janitor service, resident manager, Refuse removal, furnishings, food-service, parking and other benefits privileges or facilities. Chapter XV of the Los Angeles municipal code Rent Stabilization ordnance, effective in the city of Los Angeles, requires that where there is a reduction in housing services there must be a corresponding decrease and equal to the reduction in the monthly cost to the landlord of the service, divided by the number of units deprived of that service.” The city has the authority to take action against a known housing deprivation in the absence of a complaint. The owner/agents were in the unit around June 2016 and installed new copper tubing, new garbage disposal, there then is no excuse why they did not install a new intercom; when they installed the new copper tubing and new garbage disposal, there was no cry from the owner that “we only install new tubing and new garbage disposal in vacant units”;but this is allegedly the reason the owner gave the city that he only installs new intercoms in vacant units; none of this is in the rental agreement; the implication in the rental agreement is that if repairs are required under law, as in this case they are, and the repairs are not the fault of the tenant, then the owner will make the repairs.

         The City consistently has denied that it was its own            inspectors who authorized the intercom system               for purposes of racism

(2) The city’s authority over the intercom and maintenance is legion. The SCEP is a tenant paid for city process that is supposed to occur very few years, but that process has not resulted in the intercom repair being ordered. The intercom is a wired unit that is connected to the electrical panel thru either the unit’s sub panel or the hallway sub panel; all those panels were approved by the city code enforcement, thus the city approved the installation of the intercoms. Fifteen units out of 18 received primary renovations and new intercoms, a few apartments at a time between 2014 and 2016, while numerous tenants—-and three currently — never received the new intercom, but the city code inspectors gave the approval for each of the 15 units renovated, the city inspectors knowing during that time period the system was not fully operational for certain tenants, and that tenant complaints had been filed. (3) The city code inspectors due to the state Building Code, have jurisdiction over all “portions” of the building, including the intercom system; (4) the city RSD approved the THP #1 and THP #2 for unit 9, both city documents gave approval for installation of intercom in unit 9. See Exhibits pages 95 and 114. But such THP approval in no way negated unit 9’s right to maintenance as spelled out under federal, state, local law and the rental agreement.(5) The intercom and keypad system are connected to the same wiring to the same front door of the building; if the city in 2015 approved the capital improvement rent increase (See Exhibit 34-44) , and the intercom and keypad were installed as one unit, which the picture shows see page 14, then it is the city who participated in the authorization of the intercom system, of which unit 9’s privilege and service has been reduced.(6) When a new owner purchases a building, he is responsible for the repairs and any items that were not repaired by the previous owner. Hi Point Apts LLC and its agents were responsible as part of tenant occupancy to “provide (including light heat water and telephone) , ordinary repairs or replacement, and maintenance, including painting. This term shall also include the probation of elevator service, laundry facilities and privileges, common recreational facilities, janitor service, resident manager, Refuse removal, furnishings, food-service, parking and other benefits privileges or facilities.” It is a housing service benefit and privilege for tenants at Hi Point Apts 1522 Hi Point St to receive available tandem parking/parking for two cars; it is a housing service to receive repair or replacement, and maintenance. The owner has reduced tenant unit 9’s parking benefits and privileges; the owner has reduced repair, replacement, and maintenance to unit 9 tenant’s intercom —- he has had the opportunity to repair or replace the intercom and has refused to—- the owner has not given us the required rent reductions. I request the rent reductions and any applicable double damages.

       “The city government, in not enforcing the THP            regulations, did not give a damn  about the due process rights of Black residents who were forced out of the tenancy, and the city did not give a damn about the Health and Safety of white applicants and tenants.”

The THP program, a city government ordinance, does not in any way reduce tenant’s rights under the rent agreement.

The city government, in not enforcing the THP regulations, did not give a damn about the due process rights of Black residents who were forced out of the tenancy, and the city did not give a damn about the Health and Safety of white applicants and tenants. “For apartments 5, 8, 15, 18, 10, 1, 6, 11 there are No THP’s; No mold inspection; No environmental impact report ; No asbestos report; No lead report.”

All rights reserved.

[Tenant name address phone redacted]

42 U.S. Code § 1981 – Equal rights under the law

(a) Statement of equal rights

All persons within the jurisdiction of the United States shall have the same right in every State and Territory to make and enforce contracts, to sue, be parties, give evidence, and to the full and equal benefit of all laws and proceedings for the security of persons and property as is enjoyed by white citizens, and shall be subject to like punishment, pains, penalties, taxes, licenses, and exactions of every kind, and to no other.

(b) “Make and enforce contracts” defined

For purposes of this section, the term “make and enforce contracts” includes the making, performance, modification, and termination of contracts, and the enjoyment of all benefits, privileges, terms, and conditions of the contractual relationship.

(c) Protection against impairment

The rights protected by this section are protected against impairment by nongovernmental discrimination and impairment under color of State law.

(R.S. § 1977; Pub. L. 102–166, title I, § 101, Nov. 21, 1991, 105 Stat. 1071.)


Parking 2013 w car at Spot 8.JPG.pdf (1.07MB)
2015-5-18 Roomate in Stall 8.JPG (4.58MB)
2017-12-27 List of Docs for LA RSD CE229942 et al.pdf (179.54KB)

Subject:      New complaints filed with you CE229942 and CE229943 and CE229944

From:         [tenant name and email redacted]
TO:    ;

DATE:         Tuesday, December 19, 2017 1:42 PM    

Dear RSD:


1. Illegal rent increase and reduction of services: the intercom at this unit remains unusable, unrepaired, as the RSD is well aware. [OVER 3 YEARS]. Maintenance is a housing service that was available to unit 9 tenants at the inception of the tenancy. Initially we were denied maintenance to the intercom; then the owner decided to replace the building wide intercom around May 2014 but refused to repair, replace, or remove ours in unit 9. As such, maintenance to the intercom has been reduced from what it should have been at the inception of the tenancy. We unfairly pay a [CITY ORDERED] capital improvement rent increase of $17.08 per month which includes the new intercom system, such housing service denied to tenants unit 9. I ask for a rent decrease on this issue, and a decrease in the city approved capital improvements $17.08 in that the intercom unit 9 is not working. I attach a picture as evidence of the intercom and keypad entry system being installed at the same time as one unit in 2014, as proof that the $17.08 increase includes the new intercom system.

2. The respondents herein include Hi Point Apts LLC (Walter Barratt), Williams Real Estate Advisors, Inc. on-site manager Cynthia Ogan, and maintenance Ali Mozannar.

“…tenants unit 1 have parking for four vehicles…”

3. Reduction of services: photographic evidence shows that tenants unit 9 were assigned to the available [present] tandem parking stall #14. Tenants unit 9 currently occupy stall #8, a single stall, proving that the parking available to us —tandem stall— has been reduced; tandem stalls have been available within the last six months, but again we face the same continuing reduction even though tandem stalls are available and tenants unit 1 have parking for four vehicles, while we in a similar one bedroom unit have only parking for one vehicle. The city RSD has refused to verify the application process for receiving a tandem parking stall in this city rent controlled building. The RSD has refused to recognize photographic evidence that another tenant was assigned to park in stall #8, while tenants #9 parked in tandem stall 14. I ask for a rent reduction of $200 per month for the loss of parking stall for a second vehicle.

“…The city RSD has refused to verify the application process for receiving a tandem parking stall…”

4. I believe I am also entitled to double damages based on the LAMC and the property owner’s failure to comply with LAMC and grant the rent reductions requested.

5. This unit still has not received the primary renovations based on the owner submitted THP, which is a benefit and privilege denied to tenants unit 9, such renovated unit valued at over $17,000.

6. I request that on-site manager Cynthia Ogan be removed as manager based on her failure to maintain the premises i.e. non-working intercom unit 9.

“…on-site manager Cynthia Ogan [should] be removed [due to racism]…”

7. WREA has ordered us by letter to make the rent payable to WREA, however, this is not in compliance with the rent agreement as the rent agreement states the rent should be paid to “Hi Point Apts”. This is another example of the payment of illegal rent since I have not signed any agreement to pay the rent to WREA.

8. Finally, the attached document shows that on June 24 2017 the owner “posted” and unit 9 tenants received a 30 day notice of rent increase. A July 21 letter attached says “please make sure” to pay the rent increase on July 1. This is less than the required 30 days notice before increase is due. There clearly has been no required 30 day notice. I request rent reimbursement for the months the required 30 day notice was not served, or 6 months x $65.61 = $393.66, plus any applicable doubling of damages. Since the June 24 posted notice is defective, no 30 day notice has even been given to unit 9 tenants to justify a rent increase.

“…There clearly has been no required 30 day notice…”

Please let me know any other documentation I would need to provide. All rights reserved.

[Editor: Tenant name, email, phone redacted]


1522 Hi Point St

Los Angeles  CA   90035

[ref: 42 USC section 1981 ]


2017-12-19 For RSO CE229942 and 943 and 944.pdf (1.33MB)

2014-4-27 New Intercom Keypad One Unit.JPG (3.32MB)

[Editor: Exhibits include:   
Email to Alan Chen from [tenant 9] re Intercom. December 10 2015 at 9:45 am.;  Email response to Alan Chen email. December 12, 2015 at 2:06 pm. ; Email to LeTaun Cotton and numerous city government employees. Feb 22 2016 at 10:51 pm; Email to LB Property Management and Owner. November 27 2016 at 1:06 pm subject; Letter from WREA announcing sink repairs will occur July 14, 2017. July 13, 2017; Email to WREA, Walter Barratt, manager Ogan, and Ali Mozannar about intercom needing repair. July 13, 2017 at 9:02 pm.; Email to WREA, owner, mayor, city employees at Jul 14 2014 at 10:56 am.; Email to WREA and city employees. Aug 30 2017 at 11:06 pm.; Email to WREA and city employees. September 18, 2017 at 9:51 pm; Email re Intercom still dilapidated. Oct 1, 2017 at 9:20 am.; Email October 1, 2017 at 9:50 am to WREA and city employees.; Email to RSD, Mayor, WREA, other city employees at Oct 13, 2017 at 7:37 am. ; Email to WREA and city employees. Oct 18, 2017 at 10:38 p.m.; Various laws/cases: Unruh, constructive eviction, retaliation and agent liability [liability for actual damages and punitive damages]; nuisance [the state law gives the tenant the authority to remove a nuisance]; CCC 1942.4(a); LAMC RAC 410.03 and 410.04 ]

[Editor: The city was advised that many whites moved into this building unaware and never told that their apartments were exposed to :Lack of mold inspection; Lack of environmental impact report; Lack of asbestos report and Lack of lead report due to no THP’s. This is what Mayor Eric Garcetti calls Gestapo “rent control”.]

Update March 19 2016

Hi Point Apts is Unsanitary, Substandard, and Unsafe

LA county Public Health Feb 10 2016 have said they have no authority over the wiring in the 1522 Hi Point St 90035 building.

Health and Safety code 17920.3 sections(a)(13) and (d) and (i) give the city and county employees jurisdiction, but as of March 16 talk with city code enforcement, and after over two years of defective security system intercom wiring, government employees maintain they have no jurisdiction under H & S code 17920.3. City employee Richard Brinson, Le Taun J. Cotton, Veronica Bauchman, David Burkhead, Richard Jackson, and Udo O. Nwachuku all claim the city and county employees have no jurisdiction to enforce defective and improperly maintained wiring.

click here to read “Tenant News”

Since there is general dilapidation abandoned vehicle and improper maintenance of the wiring and construction materials, the Health and Safety code 17920.3 declares the building to be “unsanitary” and “substandard” and “unsafe”. Tenant security is at risk.

Click for Youtube Video on Hi Point Apts

Update August 2 2015- 

[ Faircrest Heights ]

as emailed and posted to the internet:

My question to [Los Angeles] Mayor Eric Garcetti, Raymond Cervantes, Agassi Topchian* and Ian Yeom*, et al, is in these times of racial strife across this country of the United States, should any Black American be denied a housing service?”

…in these times of racial strife across this country of the United States, should any Black American be denied a housing service?”

Update July 13 2015- voicemail to code enforcement citing ‘racism’

Transcribed from Voicemail. Here the Voicemail at the Link below.* Regarding 1522 Hi Point Street aka “Hi Point Apts” and “Hi Point Apts LLC” Voicemail 7-9-2015 at 22:20 and 22:24.

You have reached the desk of inspector Richard Brinson with the Los Angeles City Housing and Community Investment Department, tenant habitability program, primary renovations. Please leave a message at the beep and I will return your call as soon as possible. Thank you.”

[From tenant]

Hi, today’s date is July 9, 2015, and this call is to Raymond Chan thru the phone number of Richard Brinson, and the number that I am calling is 213-252-2883, that is the City of Los Angeles government number.

I have received voicemails from Mr. Brinson and others the last two months but they are not acceptable as a resolution to the Complaints herein. To Raymond Chan, Director, If Not for Racism. Your recent voicemails have been received and they are not acceptable as a resolution.

1. I am still denied a housing service/privilege tandem parking stall.

2. I have still not received a reduction in rent due to loss of parking stall from stall #14 to stall #8, a tandem stall to a single stall; this is a habitability complaint

3. I am still denied a housing service and habitability working intercom

4. The owner miscalculated the annual 3% rent increase for June1 and I have notified him and LAHCID. I will forward you a copy of the rent check cashed June 1 2015. The owner has not made the correction or provided a rent reduction. This is also a habitability complaint

5. I am still denied a rent reduction due to loss of working intercom                             [rent reduction as required by LAMC section 151 et seq.]

6. Each month I pay rent on the 1st is an illegal rent increase

7. I have not received a rent reduction due to shared utilities

8. I have not received treble damages due the rent stabilization

ordinance violations stated herein.

9. I have also been damaged by illegal cumulative rent increases

10. A lack of response from all parties to these issues has violated my quiet enjoyment of the apartment unit

I believe the reason why the owner has refused to comply with the above and the reason why the LAHCID has refused to protect me from the risk of injury and conduct reasonable diligence in this regard above is because I am Black, and because I have complained that the RAC and property owner/agents are racist towards me.

I have written LAHCID numerous times over the past 13 months, as well as left voicemails, and first class mail. There still has been no good faith response/resolve. How do you suggest we resolve this matter? If I call you every hour, will that help resolve this? If I come to LAHCID headquarters every hour, will that help resolve this matter? If I come down to LAHCID and picket in front with a poster that states “LAHCID Racist Against Blacks“, will that help resolve this matter?

If not for racism, what is the reason why the LAHCID has refused to enforce the city rent stabilization regulations as regards the above complaints? This call is from tenant apt 9, July 9, 2015.”

Recording has stopped…Message left.”

[Previously sent by email and first class mail and also to Code enforcement. c: Mike Feuer, City attorney; State Bar Complaint; Site manager Marilyn London, via email ; Mayor and City Council via email to council president Wesson;  California Department of Fair Employment and Housing .The Mayor of Los Angeles is Eric Garcetti. The Governor of California is Edmund “Jerry” Brown. Raymond Chan is the director of city LAHCID. The California Department of Fair Employment and Housing has refused to process this as a discrimination complaint.]

Voicemail audio file – call to LAHCID code inspector Richard Brinson July 9. Note that this is one of many calls over the past 12 months to code enforcement. Various inspectors have been inside the buildings at least fifteen times over the past 12 months. The intercoms for select tenants remain unrepaired.

Voicemail to city LA Inspector re 1522 Hi Point

Update April 20 2015

Welcome to Los Angeles.

Won’t you please join us for tea 

and discrimination?

[Redacted from an email dated April 19 2015 to Department Fair Employment and Housing and the Housing Rights Center.]


From approximately March 2014 to August 2014 the building was without a resident manager.

This affected about seven tenants. The RAC ordered a rent rebate and I was the only one who received the check. The remaining tenants Apts 5, 6, 8, 10, 15, and 18 did not receive a rent refund from the owner.

Of those tenants, two are white and seven are minorities.


Ten tenants of the Causasian race have working intercoms.

Two tenants of the Caucasian race have no working intercoms.

Over 80% Caucasian tenants have working intercoms.

Three Asians have working intercoms.

One Asian does not have a working intercom.

Three tenants Black race have working intercoms.

Ten tenants Black/Hispanic do not have working intercoms.

Over 80% Black tenants do not have working intercoms.

[Figures are approximate]


2 Caucasian tenants have not received a rent reduction for non-working intercom

10 Black/Hispanic tenants have not received a rent reduction for non-working intercom

80% of Black/Hispanic have not received a rent reduction due to non-working intercoms.”

from a tenant at Hi Point Apts.

[Based on documents forwarded to the Mayor Eric Garcetti and Council and Rent Adjustment Board members.]

Gentrification discrimination occurs because it has the help of  government officials and government funding.

Should white tenants have a working intercom solely because they are white?

Is the money of Black tenants not good enough  for them to have working intercoms?

Can you say ‘Racism’ ?


Black Tenants Protest Rent Increase at Gentrification Neighborhood            [Jan 4 2015]

Hi Point Apts is the subject of a protest by African American tenants against a proposed rent increase by the owner. [December 2014]. There is some indication that tenants want the cost of repairs to a recent door keypad passed onto the newer more affluent tenants. Most of the newer tenants are non-African American. If you are a tenant who wishes to oppose the rent increase,  reference Case CA050505 and please contact Los Angeles Housing Department Scott Matsunaga at 213-928-9063 or email:

Other Pending Issues at

1522 Hi Point

These are the pending issues that have been turned over to the Rent Adjustment Commission’s Armida Olguin-Flores and Aracely Gonzalez; city attorney Mike Feuer; code enforcement inspector David James; Hi Point Apts LLC owner Walter Barratt, and employees Gianni Capaldi,  Cliff Renfrew, et al.:

REDUCTION OF RENT  due to un repaired door entry system. Pending since April 2014. Owner has arbitrarily installed entry systems for some tenants while denying the repair of entry system to others. RAC regulations says tenants are entitled to a rent reduction but the order has yet to be issued.

REDUCTION OF RENT due to reduction in parking. Pending since April 2014. Owner arbitrarily reduced parking for certain tenants who had tandem stalls; they were threatened with eviction notices. Some tenants clearly received a  housing service of parking two  cars in the building lot for years.  The city government has refused to acknowledge the parking code which clearly defines “tandem” parking stalls in residential apartments. RAC regulations says select tenants are entitled to a rent reduction of $200 per month but the order has yet to be issued.

LACK OF DOUBLE STRIPING parking stalls. Another example where code enforcement refuses to follow their own regulations.

TANDEM STALLS not in compliance with the parking code. Another example where code enforcement refuses to follow their own regulations.

NO PERMIT FOR construction of brick wall. Another example where code enforcement refuses to follow their own regulations.

RENT REDUCTIONS due to lack of resident manager. In this rent control building there had been no resident manager since around March to August 2014. The owner had refused to provide a rent reduction to tenants. Finally after one tenant persisted, rent control on August 11, 2014 ordered the owner to provide [an extremely small] rent reduction refund checks to many tenants. As of today September 28, 2014, only one tenant out of 18 has received the refund check. The owner also waited past the 10 day deadline to tender the check. RAC and the owner refuse to verify did other eligible tenants receive the rent control check. [The owner had protested paying the rent reduction saying there were less than 16 units occupied at the time; the owner was mistaken because the city fire code regarding resident managers applies  to number of units and not number of tenants.]

[ The HI POINT APTS LLC state ID is 201406410177]

LA Rent Control The Rent Adjustment Commission (RAC) Rent Control Los Angeles rent-controlled LA Rent Control The Rent Adjustment Commission (RAC)

Updated December 24 2016

Certainly tenants who are white at the property, and the non-Blacks, have the use and benefit of intercom and parking stall, and certainly those tenants reasonably and justifiably place significant and substantial importance on such housing services since they signed the lease and pay over $1700 per month for such housing services. I can hear the voices of those now long dead Blacks in Alabama, ‘Oh, Mister Charlie, I just want me an Intercom boss, and some maintenance, and maybe a parking spot for my car, I am on my knees begging you boss.’ And the white plantation owner smiles down on the Darky and whips him for daring to ask a question. Well what year was that? 2015? The plantation owner continues, ‘And don’t even think of going to court, Boy, cause we gonna lynch you before you get there!’

Taken from “How does a Ham-Jew-DNA-Kushite Black American qualify for intercom?”  Click here to see page

Rent Control Los Angeles rent-controlled LA Rnt Control The Rent Adjustment Commission (RAC) Rent Control Los Angeles rent-controlled LA Rent Control The Rent Adjustment Commission (RAC) Rent Control Los Angeles rent-controlled LA Rent Control The Rent Adjustment Commission (RAC) Rent Control Los Angeles rent-controlled

LA Rent: Has rent control been successful in Los Angeles? Evictions from rent-controlled units on the rise in L.A. LA Rent Control The Rent Adjustment Commission (RAC) Rent Control Los Angeles rent-controlled Top 10 Most Frequently Asked Questions – Landlord/Tenant Department of Consumer and Business Affairs LA Rent Control The Rent Adjustment Commission (RAC) Rent Control Los Angeles LA Rent Control The Rent Adjustment Commission (RAC) Rent Control Los Angeles


3 Responses to Pending RAC “Rent Control” Complaints re 1522 Hi Point Street 90035

  1. This was not something I wanted to discover, as I have another inspection coming on the 20th, by the Code Enforcement Agency. The inspector who will be inspecting it is the same bastard who ‘inspected’ my unit on January 6th of this year. I moved in just one week after this, and immediately all the violations that were complained about by previous tenant are still there. I have tried to speak with HCIDLA but they are not helpful–and have proof of the Health Department being up to no good as well–knowingly and willingly reporting lies to their superiors. I have two babies being affected by this… One is only 2 months old..

    It has been so bad, that I have emailed EVERYONE in HUD, HCIDLA, and a majority of the federal government, and state government and county government…

    Still waiting for help, as my two children get eaten alive.

    The following is what I had emailed to so many.. I got 2 responses back, both of them bot emails that didn’t address anything specifically.

    Presidents, Vice Presidents, Heads, Seniors, Chiefs, Deputies, Managers, Supervisors, Mayors, Attorneys, Lawyers, Doctors, Friends, Enemies, Workers, Colleagues, Neighbors, Owners, Landlords, writers, newsman, reporters, editors, Officials, Senators, Countrymen, Fellow-citizens, Brothers, Sisters, and Family

    I preface the following with the explanation that the general nature of this address is not the working of advertisement, spam, nor any other commercial interest, it is not a result of laziness and is in no way in the interest of inhumanity, but rather is a consequence resulting from the urgency of this matter and the negligence of those capable of reconciliation.

    I, Joshua Scott Wood, write to you on behalf of Nidia Azucena Escobedo, my fiancée and the mother of my two children, as she is in a condition that would not warrant much coherency. Her postpartum depression has covered her in darkness, her chronic stress has me fearing for sudden stroke, the tension created by hardship has in turn created turmoil in our family and our relationship, at a time when cohesion is needed most. A great injustice has fallen upon us, and it seems that there is no one to help.

    Our second child, Ethan Anthony Wood, was born on December 7th, 2014 after tormenting his mother for 9 long months, and though he was born early, he was born a healthy baby boy and is still today and fine example of a healthy baby.

    His mother however, as I have already alluded to, has suffered significantly. This second pregnancy proved worse than the first, with her developing high blood pressure and sciatica in the final two months, placing her in bed with orders from the doctor to get up only to use the restroom. With a 15 month old baby, (our first, Riley) running around and me off at work, you can imagine how dreadfully impossible this was, and despite my concern she ignored the doctor’s direction until she could no longer bear the pain. I eventually had to take leave from work to help her out, and though it would be tough, we knew we had each other and everything would be alright.

    What we did not know was the pending eviction my mother neglected to inform us about. What we did not know was that my mother had become bitter, had turned against us because we wished to move out on our own and start our own lives. As insane and crazy as it sounds, it is the truth, and no one wishes it wasn’t so more than I. Ethan was scheduled to be born on the 18th of December, but due to her blood pressure, she went into the hospital on the 6th, and by the 7th little Ethan was with us. Our joy however was short lived, as the following day my mother gave me a piece of news that I still struggle to be a fragment of reality: “On December 18th, we will be evicted. You and your wife must go too.”

    That was all that was said. There was nothing more to say, and even after she hung up the phone I could not find the words to express what was inside of me. It was unbelievable.

    For 35 days we were homeless, we traveled up and down Los Angeles, with me finding myself acquainted with stranger and stranger forgotten citizens of the City Of Los Angeles, until we were able to find a place—with the help of many. And as short as that sentence was, it is nothing compared to how long that period seemed. Everyday we were at the mercy of fate—the littlest of things puffed us up big and proud and happy, but just as easily another little thing could (and often did) cut us down and render us insignificant. On January 13, 2015 we signed the lease, and by the 16th we had moved in, with little more than the clothes on our backs. To see my eldest son Riley walk about the empty apartment, talking in his baby talk so many indecipherable things, waving his arms this way and that brought tears to my eyes, and when I looked at Nidia she was crying too. It felt so good and wonderful and sad all at the same time.

    Two days later, however… We discovered why the apartment had not been rented. Bed Bugs. In July 2014 the prior year, the previous tenant had fled the apartment, leaving everything behind because of these Bed Bugs—and after ten years of occupancy. The landlord did nothing. . . And here, six months later they were still prevalent.

    It has become a nightmare. We have now paid for an apartment we cannot live in, and cannot possibly keep our children in. It is almost as if we are worse off than before, as we have a year lease with the landlord for a dwelling that is inhabitable. No one will take us in, as they too fear getting inflicted with bed bugs. I feel like a leper. We have tried to stay in a hotel, but obviously lack the funds for this, and of course the landlord is not willing to foot the bill. Our car is infested with bed bugs.

    DPSS will not help us, they feel that we are not homeless, despite documentation proving our apartment is not habitable.
    HDICLA will not help us, they give us the run around and transfer us to different sections of their department.
    Jose Huizar will not help us, in fact I doubt he even knows of our plight, as his secretary is unapproachable.
    The Mayor of Los Angeles has not responded, nor has the City Attorney.
    Passageways relays us information regarding 2-1-1, an already exhausted option.
    Jewish Loan Foundation has not responded.
    Volunteers of America can be reached, but they do not follow up.
    2-1-1 has no further help, 3-1-1 has none either

    We have tried anywhere and everywhere. We have tried every loan and everything we can think of. We have no home, once again—despite our every effort to obtain permanent, safe, housing for our children. We have tried to reach our City Officials—but they turn a deaf ear to our cries.

    The history shown with this landlord illustrates that though he may play ignorant to the situation, he is in fact well aware of the things that he does. He is well aware that doing the least possible shows that he is not entirely negligent, and apparently in today’s court systems that sort of thing is ok, as eventually a tenant will no longer be able to/will no longer wish to pay for their apartment, after which they will be evicted for nonpayment of rent.

    There is nothing to say to this, as nonpayment is nonpayment—even if justified.

    Please. . . help.

    —Joshua Scott Wood

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s